Plus Minus gives Gnomon students a chance to work with professional filmmakers such as Shane Acker and Meni Tsirbas.

Director: Shane Acker

Creator and Director of 9

Shane Acker is an award-winning director, animator and designer. He is the creator and director of the feature film 9. The Focus Features/Universal Studios picture was produced with Jim Lemely and executive producers Tim Burton and Timur Bekmambetov.

The 2-minute short 9, which the feature film was based on, premiered at Sundance in 2005 and has garnered numerous awards including the gold medal at the student Academy Awards. Best in Show at the 2005 SIGGRAPH Electronic Theater, and was nominated for an Academy Award in 2006.

Shane has a multidisciplinary background, studying architecture for several years before becoming a filmmaker. He is a graduate of UCLA's School of Arts and Architecture where he received both a Masters Degree in Architecture and an MFA in Animation.

Shane currently resides in Los Angeles where he freelances as a 3D artist, director and instructor while actively developing his own independent films.

For more of Shane's work, visit:

Co-Director: Aristomenis Tsirbas

Creator and Director of Battle for Terra

Aristomenis (Meni) Tsirbas has been directing for film and TV for over ten years and has fifteen years experience as a visual effects supervisor and digital artist. His professional career started in 1996, working as a digital artist on James Cameron's Titanic and national advertising spots for Nike, 7UP and Coca-Cola. As a visual effects supervisor Meni worked on Miramax's A Wrinkle in Time, Disney's My Favorite Martian and Paramount's Star Trek: Deep Space Nine. Between 2000 and 2003 Tsirbas wrote and directed a string of highly successful animated short films including SIGGRAPH's Ray Tracey in Full Tilt, Microsoft's Mech Warrior: Vengeance, Terra, and the acclaimed The Freak. In 2004 Tsirbas worked on two back-to-back music videos, including Tears For Fears' Closest Thing To Heaven, before setting off to direct his first feature film, Battle for Terra.

For more of Meni's work, visit:

Digital Artists

Dustin Blattner

Travis Bourbeau

Jason Burton

Michael Cacciamani

Aggie Christakis

Nikki Coletta

Hunt Dougherty

Jorik Dozy

Ricardo Giuggioli

Josh Herman

Tom Heyerman

Wei-Chuan Hsu

Josh Iwanski

Ebrahim Jahromi

John Lee

Dustin Mackay

Sylvia Miller

John Patrick

Samuel Perez

Cesar R. Quijada

Joao Rosa

James Schauf

Brooke Shay

Nathanial Smith

Peter Straub

Gideon Vandegrift

Diana Zeng